Participant Login


Matt Cosgrove

Matt Cosgrove, lover of words, pictures and books in general, is the author and illustrator of the bestselling Macca the Alpaca books, Dharma the Llama and the Epic Fail Tales series. With over 25 years experience in the publishing industry he regularly speaks to children at schools and libraries with the simple message: Keep Drawing, Keep Writing, Keep Reading. Matt’s picture book, Alpacas With Maracas, was the official National Simultaneous Storytime selection for 2019, with over 1 million kids across Australia and New Zealand reading together at the same time!

The MS Readathon is such an iconic event and I'm honoured to be an ambassador. I loved taking part in the MS Readathon when I was a kid and I'm so happy new generations of young readers are embracing this challenge. What a cool concept... Celebrating reading, encouraging empathy and helping out families affected by multiple sclerosis - all at the same time!

Check out Matt's website for fun facts and free activities. Or you might catch him on instagram, facebook or twitter when he should be working instead.

Andy Griffiths

Andy Griffiths

Andy Griffiths is one of Australia's most popular children's authors. He and illustrator Terry Denton have collaborated on more than 30 bestselling books since their first title, Just Tricking, was published in 1997.

In Australia Andy and Terry's books have sold over 10 million copies, won 80 children's choice awards and 10 Australian Book Industry Awards-including Book of the Year for The 52-Storey Treehouse in 2015.

Their much-loved Treehouse Series has been embraced by children around the world and is now published in more than 35 countries. Five of the books in the series have been adapted for the stage and have all had sell-out seasons at the Sydney Opera house, as well as highly successful seasons in the Netherlands, New Zealand and America.
Andy is a passionate advocate for literacy and in 2015 was awarded the Dromkeen Medal to honour his outstanding contribution to Australian children's literature. He is also an ambassador for both The Indigenous Literacy Foundation and the Pyjama Foundation.

“I’ve always loved a challenge and if that challenge involves bringing kids and books together in order to raise funds to help people with multiple sclerosis then all the better…I can’t imagine a life without reading and I am happy to be an MS Readathon ambassador to encourage as many children as possible to discover the pleasures of reading and imagination for themselves.”

Ursula Dubosarsky

Australian Children's Laureate 2020-2021

Ursula is an Australian writer for children who was born and lives in Sydney. She decided she wanted to be a writer when she was six years old. She has now written over 60 books for children of all ages, novels, picture books, mysteries, puzzle books, poetry and non-fiction, and she has won many prizes, both in Australia and internationally. She is married to Avi and has three grown up children and a dog called Argus. She is the current Australian Children’s Laureate, for 2020-2021. You can find out more about Ursula at and about what the Australian Children’s Laureate is at

“I am so thrilled to be an ambassador for the wonderful MS Readathon, which celebrates children and reading, and raises money and awareness for people with multiple sclerosis. Reading is one of the truly great adventures that life has to offer us. As the Australian Children’s Laureate, my job is to encourage children all over Australia to read, and to read for their whole life. The MS Readathon is such a terrific way to bring children and books together with an added purpose of raising funds for those who really need it.”

Jessica Townsend

Jessica Townsend

Jessica Townsend lives on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland. Her pet fascinations include public transport, ancient cities, hotels, opera singers, Halloween, secret societies and gigantic cats – all of which have weaselled their way into Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow, her award-winning first novel released in 2017. This breathtaking, record-breaking and New York Times bestselling series follows the wondrous adventures of Morrigan Crow, a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world - but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination. The series continues with Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow, released in 2018, and Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow, released in 2020.
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow was the biggest-selling Australian children's debut since records began. It has won the 2018 ABIA for Book of the Year, Book of the Year for Younger Readers and Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year; the 2018 Indie Book Awards Book of the Year and Children's Category; the 2017 Aurealis Award for Best Children's Fiction; the 2018 Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Younger Fiction and was named a CBCA notable book.

Connect with Us